What Mysteries Await

by Soul Places | Diane Ludeking

Horse chestnuts
Copyright Diane Ludeking 2012

I discovered these exquisite gems a few weeks ago at a Women and Girl’s Night Out event.  Thirty women and girls gathered on a chilly, windy autumn evening to raise our voices together in song around fire.  Six of us stayed overnight, snuggling up in our sleeping bags out of the wind in a cabin with bunks.  After our morning closing celebration, three of us went for a walk to the swinging bridge nearby.  As we began our walk, I noticed hundreds of horse chestnuts strewn about the trail.  I met these nuts for the first time the night before, but to find them myself in the daylight tickled me like a girl in a horse barn.  How is it that I’ve never seen these before in my lifetime?  What other mysteries are out there awaiting my gaze?

Horse chestnuts
Photo credit Wikipedia

 
What Mysteries Await
by Diane Ludeking
 
Lime pufferfish
envelope
turns brown
fragile
 
Falls away
Reveals
 
Fine mahogany,
delicate cherry wood,
supple leather
exterior
 
Personas
I wear.
 
White chocolate
nutty meat
middle
 
My own sweet
nourishing
interior.
 
What flavor is your mystery
 
Would you be angry-looking
if I were angrily looking?
 
Would you be sad-looking
if I were sadly looking?
 
You are innocent-looking
because I innocently look.
 
 

Horse chestnut
Copyright Diane Ludeking 2012

 

Swinging Bridge Destination
Copyright Diane Ludeking 2012

 
