Dogs in Cars

by Soul Places | Diane Ludeking

Dallas Riding in the Car

Dallas Riding in the Car, Fast

Since my Dallas died, I like to bike down by the dog park and wait for the cars with dogs in them to drive past. Sometimes I can hear them coming before I see them, the barks echoing off the Mississippi River valley and the High Bridge. Soon I see the German Shepherd with his head out the passenger side window, still announcing his arrival.  Next, a red SUV chauffeurs two hounds that compete for the same prime window seat. Then comes a pit-bull in a sports car with the top down. This one is smiling and quiet, but with enthusiasm just as loud as the barker’s. I laugh out loud in jubilation, sometimes sorrow, and try not to think of my Dallas.

Two Peas in a Pod

Two Peas in a Pod

